Groups Archive

Groups are an excellent way to connect with people locally and worldwide. Depending on the permission settings at the administrative level, educators, parents, and even students can create or join Groups. They can be used to connect, collaborate, share materials, learn “best practices,” and more. There are so many different ways to use the Groups feature; they may become a vital part of your educational management.

  • Create and Join Groups

    Create Groups

    You can create a group from the Groups tab on the top menu. To create a group, follow these steps:

    1. Select the Groups dropdown menu and click the Create link.
    2. Fill out the Group form.
    3. Write a Description (optional).
    4. Set Privacy to customize who can view the group.
    5. Set Access to customize who can join the group.
    6. Click Create to finish.

    Once you have created a Group, you are now a Group Admin. In your Groups drop-down menu, groups you administer are marked by the crown icons

    Join Groups
    You can also join existing groups by selecting the Groups dropdown menu and clicking the Join link. A pop-up window will appear asking you for an access code. Enter the access code given to you by the group's administrator. Once you join a group, you will begin receiving updates, posts, comments, and event notifications from the group.

    Groups at your School
    You can see all groups you are a part of, as well as groups at your school, by clicking on See All located in the bottom right corner of the Groups dropdown menu.

    Public Schoology Groups
    Schoology has also created open groups based on areas of study and teaching techniques. You can view and join the Public Schoology Groups by clicking Find Public Groups at the top of your Groups drop-down.

  • Group Updates

    Updates are meant to be brief messages posted to your group. When updates are posted to your group, they will appear in the Updates section of your group as well as on each in the Recent Activity area of members in your group.

    By default, any member can post updates. If you are a group administrator, you can limit this ability to only other group administrators. To do so, follow these steps:

    1. Select a Group from the Groups dropdown in the top menu.
    2. Go to Group Options in the left menu of the group page and click on Edit Info.
    3. Click on the Settings area to the right of the Info tab.
    4. Click "All Members in the Post group updates row to enable/disable this feature.
    5. Click the Save Changes button to complete.
  • Group Polls

    You can post a Poll in your group to receive live feedback as members vote. To create a poll, please follow these steps:

    1. Select a Group Profile from the Groups dropdown.
    2. Type an update in the text box at the top.
    3. Click on the Poll icon under the text box.
    4. Two fields will appear by default. If you'd like to add more options, click on the Add Option link below the fields.
    5. Click Post to complete!

    Note: You can also create group updates from the Home page by clicking on the Update link near to the top of the page, and following the steps above.

  • Group Discussions

    Group discussions are a great way for members to engage in interests outside or in conjunction with the classroom. To add a discussion to your group, follow these steps:

    1. Select a Group from the Groups dropdown in the top menu.
    2. Go to the Discussions area in the left menu.
    3. Click on the button to Add Discussion.
    4. Add a title and description (optional) to the discussion.
    5. Click Create to complete.

    By default, any member can add discussion threads to the group. If you are a group administrator, you can limit this ability to only other group administrators. To do so, follow these steps:

    1. Select a Group from the Groups dropdown in the top menu.
    2. Go to Group Options in the left menu of the group page and click on Edit Info.
    3. Click on the Settings area to the right of the Info tab.
    4. Use the Allow Members to Post on Group Feed option to enable/disable this feature.
    5. Click the Save Changes button to complete.
  • Group Albums

    Group Albums are another great way for members to share photos and media files with each other. As Group Admin, you must add media albums in the group in order for members to participate in the albums. To add an album, follow these steps:

    1. Select a Group from the Groups dropdown in the top menu.
    2. Go to the Albums area in the left menu.
    3. Click on the button to Add Album.
    4. Add a title and description (optional) to the album.
    5. The option to Allow Comments will allow members to add comments to uploaded photos and media.
    6. The option to Allow Students to Add Media will allow members of the course to upload photos and media to the album.
    7. Click Create to complete.
  • Add Group Members

    Go to the group profile by selecting a group from the Groups dropdown in the top menu, or click See All for a complete list of your groups. You can add members to your group by distributing the Group Access code.

    Using an Access Code

    Each group has a 10-digit access code (in a green box) located in the left menu of the Group Page, and also in the Members tab. To use an access code to join a group, follow these steps:

    1. Locate the Groups dropdown in the top menu.
    2. Click Join at the bottom of the list.
    3. Input your Access Code.
    4. Click Join to complete.

    Require Approval

    If you would like to manually approve each user who uses the access code before they can join the group, follow these steps from the Group Profile:

    1. Navigate to the Group Profile.
    2. Select the Members tab in the left menu.
    3. Look for the Require Approval checkbox below the Access Code on the right.
    4. Enable the checkbox to turn on this feature.

    Using Add Members

    Some instructor accounts will have an Add Members button above the access code. Instructors with this button available on their Group Page can add members by following these steps:

    1. Select the Groups dropdown in the top menu.
    2. Navigate to the Group Profile (If not listed, click See All).
    3. Click the Members tab in the left menu.
    4. Click on the Add Members button.
    5. Select member(s) to invite to the group.
    6. You will see a selected count in the upper right corner.
    7. You can also search or browse for each user, without affecting the previously selected members.
    8. Click Add Members to finish.
  • Group Resources

    Group Resources is an area for members to share files and links that pertain to their interests. One of the unique features of this area is that you may allow other members to add to the Resources section.

    To allow members to add resources, follow these steps:

    1. Select a Group Profile from Group dropdown.
    2. Go to Group Options in the left menu.
    3. Click on Edit Info.
    4. Click on the Settings area to the right of the Info tab.
    5. Make sure the Resources row is set at least to "Group" by checking the box in Group Privacy Settings.
    6. In the "Other Settings" section, check "All Members" in the Create Resources row.
    7. Click Save Changes complete.
  • Archive Groups

    Group administrators can archive groups to prevent users from participating without moderation. This feature removes the group from the Groups dropdown menu, and members who navigate to the group through a link will receive a Private Access Only message. Administrators of the group can continue to access the group from the Archived area of Group Listing.

    To archive groups, follow these steps:

    1. Locate the Groups dropdown in the top menu.
    2. Select the option to See All in the lower right corner of the dropdown.
    3. Click on the gear to the right of the group you'd like to archive.
    4. Select the option to Archive.
    5. If you're sure you'd like to archive the group, submit the form.

    To restore an archived group, follow these steps:

    1. Locate the Groups dropdown in the top menu.
    2. Select the option to See All.
    3. Click on the Archived area of your groups.
    4. Click on the gear to the right of the group you'd like to restore.
    5. Select the option to Restore.
    6. If you're sure you'd like to restore the group, submit the form.

    Note: Restoring a group will allow group members to access and to participate in the group. No group content or enrollment will be lost during the archival process.